Marcel's grandfather ran a 3 hectare vineyard in Plamont at the foot of the Chavalard, Fully's emblematic mountain. This exceptional site with its terraced vineyards naturally gave its name to the cellar. Vincent, son of Marcel, created in 1988 the Cave du Chavalard with his wife Josiane. Since 2011, their son Gilles and his wife Andrea have taken over the family business. The 15-hectare estate is located on the sunny hillsides of Fully and Martigny, as well as in the commune of Charrat.


 

22 Grape varieties
31 Bottles
14 Hectares

 Welcome

 

The accent is immediately put on the magnificent village of Fully at the first roundabout with the Petite Arvine sign. Indeed Fully has made it its battle horse and its spearhead. We love it :-) In short: Welcome to the Valais!

Andrea is waiting for us at the entrance of the winery and Gilles joins us in the reception room. After a presentation of the domain and especially the next terrace which will soon be opened on the top of the cellar in the emblematic hillside of Fully, we start the little visit. During our walk through the reception, the stock and the magnificent barrels, I ask the couple about their history and that of the winery. We marvel at how they met in the canton of Saint-Gall. Gilles went to work for a Swiss-German winemaker (also one of our partners, by the way) after his apprenticeship to gain new experiences and learn Swiss-German. Once there, he soon started playing in the brass band, where he met his wife Andrea between two musical notes. The flute has been replaced by a bottle of Petite Arvine, but the passion for music and therefore the artistic side of both of them remains and will always remain with this very welcoming couple.

 

 

    

  

What wines to taste during your visit to the Cave du Chavalard in Fully?

Of course, we recommend the Petite Arvine of the Domaine, but we also loved the Gewürtzraminer that we took in our end of the year gift box and to finish with the whites, I would not leave without tasting the Johannisberg and the Mosacato.

For the reds, we were seduced by Symphonie Valais, a blend that offers a true symphony of flavor and emotion. The Federrer Selection is also very interesting, as is its history. Federrer being Andrea's maiden name, this selection is dedicated to the in-laws. Indeed, they have some parcels on Fully, where the grape varieties, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot have been blended to make a treat for the taste buds! We found the story and the wink very nice!

 

The favorites : Cuvée Federrer and Les Bulles
The emblematic wine : Petite Arvine

 

 

 

 

 
☺ Gilles Carron
✉ Route de Martigny 203
1926 Fully ☜

+4127 746 23 55
☼ Heures d'ouverture : lundi-vendredi 9h-11h30 / 13h30-17h30

Le grand-père Marcel exploitait un vignoble de 3 hectares à Plamont au pied du Chavalard, montagne emblématique de Fully. Ce site exceptionnel avec ses vignes en terrasse a naturellement donné son nom à la cave. Vincent, fils de Marcel, a créé en 1988 la Cave du Chavalard avec sa femme Josiane. Depuis 2011, c'est leur fils Gilles avec son épouse Andrea qui ont repris l’entreprise familiale. Le domaine de 15 hectares se situe sur les coteaux ensoleillés de Fully et Martigny, ainsi que sur la commune de Charrat.

22 Cépages
31 Bouteilles
14 Hectares

Accueil

L'accent est tout de suite mis dès notre arrivée dans le magnifique village de Fully au premier rond-point avec le panneau Petite Arvine. Effectivement Fully en a fait son cheval de bataille et son fer de lance. Ca tombe bien, on adore :-) En gros : Bienvenue en Valais !

Andrea nous attend de pied ferme à l'entrée de la cave et Gilles nous rejoint dans le local de réception. Après présentation du domaine et surtout la prochaine terrasse qui sera tout bientôt ouverte sur les hauts de la cave dans le versant emblématique de Fully, nous débutons la petite visite. Pendant noter promenade à travers l'accueil, le stock et les magnifiques barriques, je questionne le couple sur leur histoire et celle de la cave. Nous nous émerveillons sur leur rencontre dans le canton de Saint-Gall. Gilles alla travailler chez un vigneron suisse-allemand (d'ailleurs aussi un de nos partenaires) après son apprentissage pour se faire de nouvelles expériences et apprendre le suisse-allemand. Une fois sur place, il débuta très vite la fanfare, où il rencontra sa femme Andrea entre deux notes de musique. La flûte traversière a été remplacée pas une bouteille de Petite Arvine, mais la passion de la musique et donc le côté artiste des deux reste et restera à jamais chez ce couple tant accueillant.
 

  

Quels vins déguster lors de votre visite à la Cave du Chavalard à Fully ?

Bien évidemment, nous vous conseillons le Petite Arvine du Domaine, mais nous avons aussi adoré le Gewürtzraminer que nous avons d'ailleurs pris dans nos Box cadeaux de fin d'année et pour terminer pour les blancs, je ne partirais pas sans avoir déguster le Johannisberg et le Mosacato pour terminer.

 

Pour les rouges, nous nous sommes laissés séduire par Symphonie Valais, un assemblage qui offre une vraie symphonie de saveur et d'émotions. La Sélection Federrer est aussi très intéressante, comme son histoire. Federrer étant le nom de jeune-fille d'Andrea, cette sélection est dédiée à la belle-famille. Effectivement, ils ont quelques parcelles sur Fully, où les cépages, Cabernet Sauvignon et Merlot ont été assemblé pour en faire un régal aux papilles ! On a trouvé l'histoire et le clin d'oeil super sympa !

 

 

Les coups de coeur : Cuvée Federrer et Les Bulles
Le vin emblématique de la Cave la Petite Arvine


 

 

 

 
☺ Gilles Carron
✉ Route de Martigny 203
1926 Fully ☜

+4127 746 23 55
☼ Heures d'ouverture : lundi-vendredi 9h-11h30 / 13h30-17h30