More than 30 different grape varieties grow on the steep Buechberg in Thal SG. Tom grows twelve varieties himself and makes his own wine. Between 25'000 and 30'000 bottles are produced each year. He only produces 500 bottles of certain varieties, which are real rarities. The beginnings of Ochsentorkel AG go back more than 100 years. Originally a cooperative, he now produces high quality and unique wines as the main shareholder. He acquired his skills and knowledge during his studies of oenology at the University of Applied Sciences in Wädenswil and was later responsible for wine production in a large winery in South Africa.
 

8 Grape varieties
13 Bottles
5 Hectares

A little story

 

allemande.png

The origins of Ochsentorkel Weinbau AG go back to the Thal Winegrowers' Cooperative, which was founded on May 6, 1916 in the hall of the Gasthaus Ochsen in Thal. The main initiator was David Tobler (1880-1933). At the beginning of the century, the cultivation of grapes on the Buechberg was in decline. Powdery mildew and downy mildew (fungal diseases) regularly destroyed the entire harvest.

David Tobler renewed the viticulture by specific cultural measures and the selection of varieties. The resulting cooperative served as an organizational platform for the Buechberg winegrowers. Slowly, viticulture in Thal was able to recover.

From 1931 on, the members of the cooperative decided to buy and vinify the grapes themselves. For this purpose, the wine press facilities of the Custerhof agricultural school in Rheineck could be used. In 1948, the cooperative rented the cellars of the Gasthaus Ochsen in Thal and purchased its own cellar facilities. The bad vintages of the 50s of the last century put a strain on the cooperative. It was only thanks to the great commitment (also financial) of the members of the cooperative that these years could be overcome. In 1963, the company Lutz and Co. from Rehetobel took over the entire wine production of the cooperative as a tenant.

In 1991, the winegrowers' cooperative started to press and market the wine itself. Between 1991 and 2006, the number of members of the cooperative increased to 300. Edy Geiger (General Manager) Ueli Kobel (Cellar Master and General Manager) and Ida Ammann
(President) succeeded in establishing the company in the highly competitive wine market.

On March 23, 2007, the Thal winegrowers' cooperative was transformed into Ochsentorkel Weinbau AG, with Salome Reimann and Tom Kobel-Reimann as the main shareholders and general managers.  The members of the cooperative received shares in the amount of the value of their share certificates.

In the summer of 2017, Salome Reimann sadly passed away, Tom Kobel has continued to run the business since then.

  

What wines should you taste when you visit Ochsentorkel in Thal ?

 

We start our tasting with a white blend, the Hohe Lust Weiss. As we also took it in our MesVignerons boxes, we already knew that we were going for a sure value :-) it is an exclusive and rare blend that we really loved. We continue with the Tante Hedy in red. This is a late harvest Pinot Noir from the Thal Valley. We can say that we are on a Pinot Noir that is medium-bodied, but authentic! We finish with the Tin Tin, an incredible red wine, Mediterranean style. We suddenly find ourselves on a terrace in the south of France in one sip. It is the strongest red wine that he produces in the cellar.

As a little anecdote, Tom's son Crispin called himself Tin Tin when he was little and when he introduced himself to people. That's why Tom used this name as a little wink to his son.

 

bulle1-logo.png
bulle2-logo.png
bulle3-logo.png

 

Tom is a taster at the Grand Prix des Vins Suisses, as well as at Expo Vinea in Sierre. This reinforces the professionalism and authenticity of his wines.

In the news, the release of his first sparkling wine in June 2021.

Tom also organizes events in his sales room which he combines with vineyard tours and wine walks. During the harvest, he takes time out to give tours of the winery, which is an exciting time if you want to go and say hello at that time!

 

Favorite : Blanc et Noir with Chardonnay and Pinot. A truly unique wine !
The emblematic wine is Hohe Lust Weiss

 

 
☺Tom Kobel
✉ Dorfstrasse 7
9425 Thal☜

071 888 57 52

Plus de 30 cépages différents poussent sur le Buechberg escarpé de Thal SG. Tom cultive soi-même douze variétés et vinifie ses vins. Entre 25'000 et 30'000 bouteilles sont produites chaque année. Il ne produit que 500 bouteilles de certaines variétés, qui sont de véritables raretés. Les débuts de la société Ochsentorkel AG remontent à plus de 100 ans. À l'origine une coopérative, il produit maintenant des vins de haute qualité et uniques en tant qu'actionnaire principal.  Il a acquis son métier et ses connaissances pendant ses études d'œnologie à l'université des sciences appliquées de Wädenswil et a ensuite été responsable de la production de vin dans une grande cave en Afrique du Sud.


 

8 Cépages
13 Bouteilles
5 Hectares

Un peu d'histoire

 

allemande.png

Les origines de la société Ochsentorkel Weinbau AG remontent à la coopérative des vignerons de Thal, qui a été fondée le 6 mai 1916 dans le hall de la Gasthaus Ochsen à Thal. L'initiateur principal était David Tobler (1880-1933). La culture de la vigne sur le Buechberg était en déclin au début du siècle. L'oïdium et le mildiou (maladies fongiques) détruisaient régulièrement toute la récolte.

David Tobler a renouvelé la viticulture par des mesures culturales spécifiques et la sélection des variétés. La coopérative qui en est issue a servi de plate-forme organisationnelle pour les viticulteurs du Buechberg. Lentement, la viticulture à Thal a pu se rétablir.

A partir de 1931, les membres de la coopérative décident d'acheter et de vinifier eux-mêmes les raisins. À cette fin, les installations du pressoir à vin de l'école d'agriculture Custerhof à Rheineck ont pu être utilisées. En 1948, la coopérative a loué les caves de la Gasthaus Ochsen à Thal et a acheté ses propres installations de cave. Les mauvais millésimes des années 50 du siècle dernier ont mis à mal la coopérative. Ce n'est que grâce au grand engagement (également financier) des membres de la coopérative que ces années ont pu être surmontées. En 1963, la société Lutz and Co. de Rehetobel a repris la totalité de la production de vin de la coopérative en tant que locataire.

A partir de 1991, la coopérative des vignerons a recommencé à presser et à commercialiser elle-même le vin. Entre 1991 et 2006, le nombre de membres de la coopérative est passé à 300. Edy Geiger (directeur général) Ueli Kobel (maître de chai et directeur général) et Ida Ammann
(Président) a réussi à établir l'entreprise sur le marché très concurrentiel du vin.

Le 23 mars 2007, la coopérative de vignerons de Thal a été transformée en Ochsentorkel Weinbau AG, avec Salome Reimann et Tom Kobel-Reimann comme principaux actionnaires et directeurs généraux.  Les membres de la coopérative ont reçu des parts sociales à hauteur de la valeur de leurs certificats de parts sociales.

À l'été 2017, Salome Reimann est malheureusement décédée, Tom Kobel a continué à diriger l'entreprise depuis lors.

  

Quels vins déguster lors de votre visite à la Cave Ochsentorkel à Thal ?

 

Nous commençons notre dégustation par un assemblage blanc, le Hohe Lust Weiss. L'ayant aussi pris dans nos Box MesVignerons nous savions déjà que nous partions sur une valeur sûre :-) c'est un Assemblage exclusif et rare que nous avons vraiment adoré. Nous continuons pas le Tante Hedy en rouge. Voici un Pinot Noir vendanges tardives qui vient de la Vallée de Thal. On peut dire que nous sommes sur un Pinot Noir qui est moyennement corsé, mais authentique ! On termine par le Tin Tin, un vin rouge incroyable, style méditerranéen. On se retrouve tout d'un coup sur une terrasse au sud de la France en une seule gorgée. C'est le vin rouge le plus corsé qu'il produit à la cave.

Pour la petite anecdote, Crispin, le fils de Tom s'appelait lui-même Tin Tin quand il était petit et quand il se présentait aux gens. C'est pour cela que Tom a utilisé ce nom pour faire un petit clin d'oeil à son fils.

 

bulle1-logo.png
bulle2-logo.png
bulle3-logo.png

 

Tom est dégustateur au Grand Prix des Vins suisses, ainsi qu'à Expo Vinea à Sierre. Cela renforcela professionnalisme et l'authenticité de ses vins tout naturellement. 

Dans les actualités, la sortie sur le marché de son premier Mousseux en juin 2021. 

Tom organise aussi des events dans sa salle de vente qu'il associe avec des tours dans les vignes et des marches viticoles. Pendant les vendanges, il prend du temps pour faire visiter la cave, c'est un moment passionnant si vous voulez aller faire un petit bonjour à ce moment là !

 

Les coups de coeur : Le Blanc et Noir avec Chardonnay et Pinot. Un vin vraiment unique !
Le vin emblématique de la Cave est le Hohe Lust Weiss

 

 
☺Tom Kobel
✉ Dorfstrasse 7
9425 Thal☜

071 888 57 52